AYES Instructors Roundtable

Purpose of the AYES Instructor Roundtable

The AYES Instructor Roundtable (AIR) was formed to provide a representative voice for AYES instructors around the country. Comprised of eleven members, the AIR supports AYES management in establishing direction and policy for the growing national school-to-career initiative.

AIR members meet with AYES management formally (via conference call) on a quarterly basis to establish direction for events like the annual AYES Training Conference. The AIR also provides input on decisions regarding mentoring, donations, and overall AYES implementation strategy. AIR members are often asked to provide input on fast-breaking developments, and must be very aware of what is going on within the initiative, within the educational system, and within the transportation industry.

Each AIR member represents one of ten pre-determined geographic regions. The eleventh AIR member is the reigning AYES/ASE Instructor of the Year, the instructor who best implements the AYES initiative.

AIR members are chosen by popular vote, via regional elections. AIR members serve a four-year term, and are replaced at the end of their term by another instructor from their region.

An AIR member's participation is endorsed by their Field Manager and by their school's administration. Involvement requires determination, cooperation, time, and a passion for the initiative.

AIR Job Description

Current AYES instructors Roundtable (AIR)

Region 1 (AK, AZ, CA, HI, ID, MT, NV, OR, UT,WA, WY)
Randy Baker
East Valley Institute of Technology
Mesa, AZ

Region 2 (CO, KS, NM, OK, TX)
Mike Falsone
Westbury High School
Houston, TX

Region 3 (IA, MN, ND, NE, SD, WI)

Region 4 (AR, IL, IN, MI, MO)
Jonathon Ross
Parkland College
Champaign, MI

Region 5 (KY, OH, TN)
Jim Anderson
Greenville High School
Greenville, OH

Region 6 (AL, FL, GA, LA, MS)
Gary Weese
Caddo Career & Technology Center
Shreveport, LA

Region 7 (NC, SC, VA)
Mark Hendricks
R.D. Anderson Applied Technology Center
Moore, SC

Region 8 (CT, DC, DE, MD, NJ, RI, WV)
Gary Wilfong
Frederick County Career & Technology Center
Frederick, MD

Region 9 (NY, PA)
Doug Stimely
Central Pennsylvania Institute of Science and Technology
Pleasant Gap, PA

Region 10 (MA, ME, NH, VT)
William Robin
Tri-County RVTHS
Franklin, MA

Region 11 AYES/ASE Instructor of the Year
Curtis Silver
Atlantic County Institute of Technology
Mays Landing, NJ

Region Breakdown

Region 1: Alaska, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Wyoming

Region 2: Colorado, Kansas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas

Region 3: Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin

Region 4: Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Missouri

Region 5: Kentucky, Ohio, Tennessee

Region 6: Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi

Region 7: North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia

Region 8: Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, Rhode Island, West Virginia

Region 9: New York, Pennsylvania

Region 10: Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Vermont

Region 11: AYES/ASE Instructor of the Year